World Peace Cookies- My new favorite

Hello Bakers and Happy New Year! I know a lot of you are about to get on your grind. You’re renewing gym memberships, planning incredibly balanced meals, and generally getting your life together. I get it. I totally get it. I’m feeling that fresh start energy as well. But I beg you to allow yourself one indulgence and I hope that indulgence would be this cookie.

This strange little cookie has been on my radar for a few months now. I heard about it on a cooking segment our local NPR station does (shout out to KNKX!). One of the food talkers mentioned that these famous cookies were the best she’s ever made in her whole life. That was enough to intrigue me, but not quite enough to get me to look up the recipe and bake them.

Then last week my sweet brother bought me Dorie Greenspan’s  amazing Cookie Cookbook and lo and behold this elusive cookie was the gorgeous cover image. I know this is a lot of hype for a cookie, but seriously guys…it could change your life. I guess I’ll finally get to the name of these bad boys: The World Peace Cookie. I suppose it’s called that because it is about the second best thing to world peace itself.

dsc_0016

These were the cookies I never knew I needed in my life. For me it was chocolate chip all the way and nothing else really compared. Wow was I wrong. I’ll always love me a classic chocolate chip, but holy moly these are amazing. And not only did I find these in Dorie’s book, but many more cookies ranging from the classic to the exquisite. I can’t wait to keep baking all of her treats, but let’s start with the best. Read on to find out how to make this unique life-changing cookie.

dsc_0011

Start by sifting 1 1/4 cups flour, 1/3 cup cocoa powder (get the good stuff!), and 1/2 tsp baking soda.

Then in a mixer cream together 11 tbsp softened butter (cut into chunks), 2/3 cup packed brown sugar, and 1/4 cup sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in 1/2 tsp fluer de sel (I buy mine an ounce or two at a time in the bulk section of Whole Foods) and 1 tsp vanilla.

Dorie recommends adding all the dry ingredients at once and simply pulsing the mixer to avoid the dreaded poof of flour. Add the dry ingredients and mix to combine. This dough is kind of strange. Sometimes it will clump up beautifully and others it will take some actual kneading to stick together. Mine was clumpy but none stuck to the bowl.

dsc_0024

Add in 5 oz high quality chocolate chopped up into bits. Make sure to chop rather finely (think mini chocolate chips) so that when you slice the cookies you aren’t fighting against huge boulders of chocolate.

dsc_0026

Now you have some choices. If you’re feeling less fussy roll the dough into two logs each about the 1 1/2 inches in diameter with no hollows inside, wrap with cling wrap, and then freeze for 2 hours. If you’re wanting to impress someone (or writing a baking blog for example) roll out the dough between two pieces of wax paper and freeze for two hours.

After your two hours have elapsed set out the dough for a few minutes and set your oven to preheat at 325 degrees.

If you chose the log method use a sharp knife to cut little disks 1/2 inch wide or so. If they break or you hit chocolate chunk don’t worry. Patch them up by squeezing the broken pieces together. Set on a lined baking sheet about 2 inches apart.

If you chose the roll out method use a round cookie cutter (or if you’re like me and realize all you have in the house are christmas cookie shapes use a small glass) to cut the cookies out. Re-roll the extra dough up to two times. Set the cookies on a lined baking sheet about 2 inches apart.

Bake the cookies for 12 minutes. They won’t look done but they are! Remove them from the sheet and set to cool on a cooling rack. Resist the urge to munch right away because they will be glorious once they’ve cooled down and the chocolate chunks have set. Believe me it’s worth it.

dsc_0028

2017 will be a great year if these bad boys have anything to do with it.

dsc_0032-copy

dsc_0034-copy

dsc_0037-copy

Honestly these are my new favorite cookie and Ms. Greenspan is my new favorite baker. I can’t wait to show you more of her recipes this year and to bake my way through even more cookbooks! Thanks for the love everyone and I hope your year is absolutely blessed.

xo,

Olivia

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 11 tbsp butter softened and cut into chunks
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp fluer de sel 
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 5 oz good quality chocolate chopped rather finely 

Method:

  1. Sift flour, cocoa, and baking soda together in a medium sized bowl.
  2. Cream butter and sugars in mixer until light and fluffy (about 3 mins). Add in salt and vanilla. Beat until incorporated. 
  3. Add in dry ingredients all at once. Pulse to start then mix on low until combined into a dough (it may be chunky or pebbly). Add in chocolate chunks and mix until combined. 
  4. Roll into two logs about 1 1/2 inches in diameter with no hollow spots. Wrap in cling wrap and freeze two hours. 
  5. Set oven for 325 degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Slice the logs into about 1/2 inch pieces and set about 2 inches apart on baking sheet. 
  6. Bake 12 minutes and take out- even if they don’t look set. Carefully move the cookies to a cooling rack. Wait until the cookie has cooled and the chocolate chunks have hardened to eat. Enjoy! 

dsc_0038-copy

Leave a Reply

