Dorie’s Crash-O-Cookies

Hello Bakers and happy Sunday! It’s a rainy and cold Sunday here in the Pacific Northwest, but my Dude and I began our day in the best way possible: by baking cookies and making waffles. The waffles we’re still working on getting to perfection, but the cookies were awesome.

Once again I’m baking one of Dorie Greenspan’s recipes from her magnificent bake book which you can get for yourself here. I’m pretty much in love with everything I’ve baked in her collection so far and these are no exception. Apparently a “crash-o-cookie” is basically an oatmeal raisin chocolate chip.

In order to reinvigorate your raisins make sure to plump them up in a liquid of some sort. This time I just did hot water for about 45 mins. In a post from this summer I tried rum. As a teacher, I don’t normally say this but here I encourage playing with your food! Try soaking your raisins in red wine, brandy, even black tea as Dorie suggests. If you find something you love let me know!

In the spirit of January resolutions, goal setting, and general improvement I’ve been trying to “miss en place” as the French say and prep out all of my ingredients before I start baking. The thought is to premeasure, chop, melt, etc. all of your ingredients so that when you begin to bake your mind is free to be on the preparation of the food. I love it because I don’t get stressed out about my kitchen becoming a disaster with each new ingredient. I also don’t have that unpleasant surprise when I realize I’m out of baking soda and have to rush to the store. Also it makes me feel like I have my own food show so that’s pretty cool too.

dsc_0003-copy

Alright let’s get baking. While your 1 1/2 cups raisins are plumping up preheat your oven to 350 and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk together 3 cups oats (old fashioned rolled), 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, and 1 tsp baking soda.

In a stand mixer with the paddle attachment beat 2 sticks room temp butter, 3/4 cup sugar, 3/4 cups packed brown sugar (I prefer dark), and 1/2 tsp salt.  Beat until smooth, about 2 mins. Add two eggs (room temp) one at a time, beating about 1 minute in between. Add in 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, beat a bit more, then turn off your mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula.

Next add all the dry ingredients at once. Pulse the mixer a few times to combine and then beat on low until almost blended. Add the raisins (after you drain them!!) and 9 oz milk chocolate. I had chocolate chips so that’s what I used, but for even better results use a high quality bar and chop it up roughly. Mix until just combined.

dsc_0010-copy

Use a medium scooper (here is the three pack I love) to effortlessly scoop out level portions of dough and place them about 2 inches apart on your prepared sheet. Press down gently on the tops to make them about 1/2 inch high.

dsc_0012-copy

dsc_0015-copy

Bake 15 mins, rotating the sheets top to bottom and front to back after 8 mins. The cookies will be done when they are firm around the edges but slightly wet looking and “pokable” in the center. After you take them out let them firm up for about 3 mins on the sheet before moving them to a cooling rack.

Here we have these delicious little cookies.

dsc_0017

I’m only slightly ashamed to admit that the Dude and I may have eaten these for breakfast a few times last week.

dsc_0019

The texture is great and the plumping of the raisins really works to add new life to old grapes.

dsc_0023

Normally I bring my extra cookies to work to pawn off on my colleagues, but we actually ate ALL of them. That really never happens.

dsc_0018

I hope you enjoy these as much as we did! Happy baking, everyone.

xo,

Olivia

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups raisins
  • 3 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 sticks butter, room temp
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs room temp
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 9 oz milk chocolate chips or finely chopped from bar

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350, line two cookie sheets with parchment paper. Plump raisins in hot water or other liquid. 
  2. Whisk together oats, flour, cinnamon, and baking soda in a bowl. 
  3. In a stand mixer beat butter, sugars, and salt together until smooth (2 mins).
  4. One by one add the eggs, beating one minute in between each addition then add vanilla. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add all the dry ingredients at once and pulse a few times to incorporate. Mix until almost combined. Add in drained raisins and chocolate. Mix until just blended. 
  5. Scoop rounds out onto the prepared sheets leaving 2 inches in between. Flatten to 1/2 inch thick and bake 15 minutes. At the 8 min mark rotate the two sheets top to bottom and front to back. They will be done when the edges are firm and the middles are still pokable and wet looking. Let sit 3 mins on the cookie sheet then transfer to cooling rack to cool. 
  6. Enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

