Power Breakfast Baked Oatmeal

Hello Bakers and Happy Sunday! I’m happy to report that it is a gorgeous day in the Pacific Northwest. The sun is pouring through the windows and bathing everything in light and beauty. It’s still freaking cold outside, but the vitamin D is all I ask for at this point.

I know I’ve been going a little crazy with the cookies, so I thought I’d lay off and make something healthy adjacent…not exactly healthy but as close as a baker can get. That being said, this week’s bake is a hearty and delicious baked oatmeal inspired by a sample I tried at Central Market last weekend. I don’t normally have the luxury of shopping at Central, but I love going there just to get inspired.

My favorite thing about this baked oatmeal is how easy it is! It takes minutes to prepare and finishes baking in about 30 minutes. It’s also great for food prepping. Make a big batch and you have a healthful real breakfast every morning for the week.

Start by grating carrots until you have about 3/4 to 1 cup shredded. I just used my cheese grater to do the job, but I remember my mom had one of these awesome spiral hand-cranked shredders. That would have been easier…but congratulations! If you’ve completed this step you’ve done the hardest part already!

Preheat your oven to 350 and butter a 2 quart baking dish.

In a big bowl whisk 2 large eggs, 1 3/4 cup milk (alternative milks work too), 1/2 cup maple syrup (don’t skimp on the real stuff), 1 tsp vanilla, and 2 tablespoons melted butter (or coconut oil if you roll that way).

Then simply add 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats (not quick cooking), 3/4 cup shredded carrots, 1/3 cup chopped pecans, 1/3 cup chopped dates, 1/3 cup chopped dried pineapple, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking powder, and 1 1/2 tsp ground cardamom.

dsc_0002

Pour the mixture into your baking dish.

dsc_0004

Bake 25-35 mins until the center is pretty set.

dsc_0012

Serve this concoction warm and maybe topped with milk or a little cinnamon.

dsc_0013

What you are left with is a filling, delicious, and wonderfully spiced oat breakfast.

dsc_0015

I love the texture of this dish- chewy with pops of bright sweet pineapple and dates. I can’t wait to experiment with different dried fruits and nuts as well…prepare yourself, bulk bins. I’m comin’ for ya!

dsc_0017

I was so satisfied with this “healthyish” recipe and it will be a staple in my fridge for the foreseeable future.

dsc_0018

I hope you enjoy and let me know if you have any ideas for stellar fruit combinations. See you next week, bakers!

xo,

Olivia

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups milk (or coconut milk, almond milk, soy milk)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter or coconut oil
  • 2 cups rolled oats (not instant or steel-cut)
  • 3/4 cup shredded carrots (about 2 carrots for me)
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/3 cup chopped dates
  • 1/3 cup chopped dried pineapple
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cardamom 

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and butter a 2 quart baking dish. 
  2. In a large mixing bowl whisk together the eggs, milk, maple syrup, butter, and vanilla. 
  3. Stir in the remaining ingredients and pour into the prepared baking dish. 
  4. Bake 25-35 mins or until set in the center. 
  5. Serve warm topped with milk. Enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

