Banana Bran Muffins

Happy Sunday everyone! I guess I’m still trying to repent for all of those cookies and desserts I baked over the last few months because today I have another healthful treat for you. I am a kindergarten teacher and I always find myself starving by our class’s morning snack time. Like “I could eat my whole lunch” starving. So that leaves me with the difficult problem of finding a snack hearty enough to get me to 11:30, but healthy enough so I’m not just riding a quick sugar spike that will end in a hard crash.

Here’s where these yummy little banana muffins come along (inspired by this recipe from Eat Yourself Skinny-she’s great!). They are the perfect dense and moist puck of yummy and can get me to lunch every day. I’ve always liked wheat bran and how dense it makes muffins, but had never tried using it in my kitchen until this week. Because there is so much of this magic ingredient in these muffins you’ll enjoy the benefits of fiber (about 4 grams) in each one.

Start by preheating your oven to 350. Next combine 1 1/2 cups wheat bran with a 1/2 cup milk (almond, soy, cow…they all work) and let it sit for at least ten minutes. This will soften the wheat bran and make your muffins much tastier.

dsc_0026

While that is sitting get out a big bowl and mash up two bananas (great for last week’s brown bananas!) and then whisk in one egg, 1 tbsp melted and cooled coconut oil, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup honey.

Next in another bowl combine 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and a pinch of salt.

If the bran mixture is ready and has been sitting for at least ten minutes add it into the wet banana mixture and stir. Then add in the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

dsc_0027

Divide evenly into 12 prepared muffin cups. I once again used my trusty spring loaded scoop to get 12 perfectly even muffins with no mess. Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

dsc_0037

Let them cool for a few minutes then transfer them to a rack. These little beauties are tasty, healthy, and a perfect staple for your work day. I recommend making a batch or two over the weekend and using them throughout the week. Since these are homemade and feature no added preservatives you can keep them in an airtight container to maintain freshness or even store in the fridge.

dsc_0030

I hope you enjoy this bake and let me know how they turned out in your kitchen. Happy Baking!

xo,

Olivia

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups wheat bran
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 medium bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 1½ tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup honey
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350. In a medium sized bowl combine wheat bran and milk. Allow to sit for at least 10 minutes. 
  2. In a large bowl whisk to combine bananas, egg, coconut oil, vanilla, and honey. 
  3. In a medium bowl whisk to combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. 
  4. After the bran mixture has absorbed for at least 10 minutes, add it to the banana mixture. Next add in the flour mixture and stir until just combined. 
  5. Scoop 12 evenly proportioned scoops into lined muffin tins. Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean. 
  6. Let cool and enjoy! 

picmonkey-collage-2

Leave a Reply

