Waffles

Happy Sunday! I’m going to admit something here that might get me some haters. I am a…a…morning person. I know I’m only 26 and I should be a wild and fun night owl, but I love getting up early, turning on NPR, drinking my coffee, and enjoying the quiet peace of the morning before the rest of the world is awake. I wish every morning could be as calm and idyllic as I just described, but life gets in the way and it usually turns into a hurried dash to get a quick portable breakfast in my hand so I can beat the awful Seattle traffic.

In order to stay sane on weekday mornings I spend one of my precious peaceful weekend mornings making delicious waffles that I’ll freeze for the rest of the week. This is my tried and true recipe I make almost every weekend.

dsc_0062

I know it sounds kind of weird but I like these waffles to be a little underdone so that when I toast them in the toaster oven throughout the week they are perfectly browned.

Start by preheating your waffle iron by plugging it in. Then in a standing mixer beat 2 eggs until light and frothy.

dsc_0054

Next add in all the other ingredients (2 cups flour, 1 3/4 cups milk, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1 tbsp sugar, 4 teaspoons baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 tsp vanilla extract) and mix until just combined.

dsc_0055

Before you pour your batter into the waffle iron make sure to give it a spray with some non-stick oil. Your waffle iron might be different from mine so you may need to add more or less batter, but I get perfect waffles when I add about 2/3 cup of batter.

dsc_0056
Look closely and you get a peak at me and my baking buddy! Haha 🙂

Pour it in and let the iron do the work. You’ll know it’s done when the steam stops and the top is browned to your liking (about 3-5 mins on my waffle iron). Repeat until all your batter is gone!

I usually get about 6 waffles out of this recipe which is the perfect amount for eating all work week. When they have all cooled I wrap them individually in a bunch of cling wrap and toss them in the freezer.

dsc_0064

Since I take these on the go with me I usually top them with a little butter and jam, but feel free to go the classic route and top with syrup or strawberries in sauce.

dsc_0061

There you have it! Delicious waffles you made yourself. How very domestic of you :)Have a wonderful week and I’ll see you next Sunday!

xo,

Olivia

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 4 tsps baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Method:

  1. Preheat a waffle iron. Beat 2 eggs until light and frothy. Add in the rest of the ingredients and beat until just incorporated. 
  2. Spray your waffle iron with nonstick spray. Pour the batter into the waffle iron about 2/3 cup at a time, cook until done. 
  3. Enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

