Banana Pantry Cookies

Hello Bakers! I’m calling today’s bake “banana pantry cookies” because well…that’s what they are! Daylight savings hit me harder than I expected today and I wasn’t really feeling like baking. Then when I started looking through my recipe books and pinterest I couldn’t find anything I could make without driving back to the grocery store. These little cookies were perfect because I had everything I needed in my pantry and fridge. On top of that they are a pretty healthful snacking option and can be eaten on a dairy-free (just sub nut milk of choice), gluten-free, or vegan diet.

DSC_0009

Start with three ripe bananas. Mash them until they’re a pretty consistent mush. Mix in two cups oats and 1/4 cup milk.

Now this is the fun part! It’s kind of like a choose your own adventure of add-ins. I happened to have dried pineapple, dried dates, raisins, and shredded coconut so that’s what I added in to my cookies. Just use whatever you have lying around in your pantry to beef up these cookies. You can do chocolate chips, walnuts, dried cherries, dried cranberries, you name it! I added 1/4 cup of each fruit and 1/2 cup of the coconut.

DSC_0013

Mix and spoon onto a baking sheet prepped with parchment paper. Make sure to pat down the cookies since they won’t flatten or spread like a normal cookie. Bake at 350 for about 15-20 minutes until they are firm around the edges and set in the middle.

DSC_0015

DSC_0018

You will be left with a simple and tasty cookie!

DSC_0019

I was pleased with how these came out and will be making them again soon! I hope you all have a wonderful week. Happy baking!

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

xo,

Olivia

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe or overripe bananas
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup milk or milk alternative of choice
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup dried pineapple (cut into small pieces)
  • 1/4 cup dried dates (cut into small pieces) 
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. 
  2. Mash the bananas in a large bowl using a potato masher. Add in the oats and stir with a spatula. 
  3. Add in all of the other ingredients and mix well. 
  4. Spoon onto prepared baking sheet and flatten tops of the mounds so that they are a consistent thickness. 
  5. Bake 15-20 minutes until set in the middle and firm around the edges. 
  6. Cool and enjoy! 

Leave a comment